California State University (CSU)

map of CSU locationsThe CSU system is the largest and among the most ethnically and racially diverse public university systems in the U.S.

Through its 23 campuses, the CSU offers more than 4,100 undergraduate and graduate degrees through both classroom and online instruction. Nearly 94 percent of the CSU's transfer students come from a California community college.

Students planning to transfer to the CSU should become familiar with the requirements for transfer admission, general education and major preparation. It's also important to determine which CSU campuses and majors may be considered "impacted," since additional admission and screening criteria may apply. 

Click on each campus name to learn more about its transfer admission requirements.


  • S = campus follows the semester system
  • Q-1 = campus follows the quarter system, but will convert to semester system in fall 2020
  • Q-2 = campus follows the quarter system; timeline for converting is undetermined


While the information posted on this website is intended to be accurate, other institutions may change their requirements without notice. You should consult and check back periodically with a counselor or academic adviser, both at De Anza and at your transfer school, to confirm that your educational plan meets transfer requirements.

COVID-19 Impact: CSU/UC Transfer Admissions

In response to the extraordinary challenges caused by the COVID-19 to community college students, the CSU and UC have each implemented their own temporary system-wide measures to relax some of their undergraduate admissions standards for Fall 2020 admitted transfer students to ensure that they are not adversely impacted by the disruptions to their educational plans. For more information, visit the following websites:

CSU Admissions: COVID-19 Update

UC Admissions: COVID-19 Update
(Full UC Press Release)

CSU Majors and Programs

CSU Transfer Information

CSU System Information

Back to Top