The De Anza Academic Senate
 Approved Notes for the meeting of

September 28th, 2009

Senators and Officers present: Anderson, Annen, Argyriou, Beckum,  Botsford, Brennan, Cichanski, Cordero, Goodwin, Hanna, LaManque, Larsen, Lee-Klawender, Larson, Logvinenko, Maynard, McNamara, Mitchell, Nickel, Roberts, Setziol, Schaffer, Sherby, Swanner, and Tao

Senators and Officers absent:  Glapion, D. Guevara, J. Guevara, Hughes, Lathers, and Mjelde

District Senate President: Alex Kramer

DASB:  Classified Senate: Administrative Liaison: Rich Schroeder

Guests: Brian Murphy, Marcia Maiero, Jackie Reza

SLO coordinators: Coleen Lee-Wheat and Jim Haynes

Curriculum Co Chair: 

[NOTE: Item numbers are reflective of agenda numbers in the order they are actually taken up at the meeting.]

The meeting was called to order at 2:30, a quorum being present. 

I. Approval of Agenda and Notes: The agenda was approved as distributed.

President Murphy was present and addressed the group. He reiterated some of the points made in his opening day address and added some other pertinent information. A focal point in his remarks was his commitment to categorical programs and he stressed the idea that the college as a community needed to pull together to find whatever is necessary to keep these vital services intact.


Back to I.

The notes of July 27h were approved as distributed.

II. Needs and Confirmations: Alicia Cortez, Don Nickel, and Janice Hector (at-large) were confirmed for service on the Cleve Freeman (Counseling) Tenure Review Committee. Cheryl Woodward, Vicky Moreno, and Carol Cini (at-large) were confirmed for service on the Robert Alexander (Counseling) Tenure Review Committee. Mia Breen, Chris Kwok, and Lisa Markus (at large) were confirmed for service on the Kevin Mello (Accounting):Tenure Review Committee.

Anita Kandula was confirmed for service on the Jeff Schinske (Biology) Tenure Review Committee. Elaine Lee, Susan Yoes, and Rob Clem were confirmed for service on the Shagun Kaur (speech) Tenure Review Committee. Joan Friesen was confirmed for service as an at large tenure review committee member. Alex Kramer and Mae Lee were confirmed for service on the Educational Master Plan Committee.

VI. Block Scheduling Feedback: Stephanie Sherman was present to field comments and questions about the new block scheduling policy currently in a partial implementation phase. She explained that departments may not experience problems with the current system and may not realize that the negative effects on students of the traditional system come across departments and divisions and not necessarily within. Several times she emphasized the point that schedulers should try their best and then come to her if real rather than feared problems arise. The need for evening classes to switch to beginning on the half hour remains to be established. Other questions raised during the meeting were deferred to the meeting of October 12th.

IV. SLO Feedback: Three divisions reported that at least one department had gotten beyond the first stage in the SLO project (writing individual SLOs for some classes). Colleen Lee-Wheat asked whether all college workshops would be sufficient to get departments through the next phases having to do with assessment of SLOs and the results of those assessments. Those responding suggested that something closer to the nature of individual departments offered directly to departments would be much more promising.

VIII. ACCJC Response to Midterm Report: Argyriou projected a previously mentioned (strongly worded) letter on to a screen. The letter focused on two topics, 1) SLOs and2) diversity. The former seemed more urgent to those working most intimately on accreditation but both need to be addressed. Argyriou explained that she was being asked to collaborate on the follow up report to the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC) to be signed and sent forward to the Chancellor and Board Wednesday, September 30th. The point of discussion was determining the percentage of courses taken through the assessment phases by the end of the 2009-2010 academic year. A draft Argyriou is considering proposes 1/3 of courses to have been taken through the assessment phase by the end of the year. It was MSCU (Hanna/Stockwell) to extend the meeting by five minutes. During discussion various points of view were expressed including agreeing with the goal and suggesting an increasing percentage such as 25%, 35%, 40% and 30%, 30%, 40% over three years. No strong consensus emerged and it was suggested that, in the final analysis, it had to be Argyriou’s call since her leadership would be at least partially responsible for the attainment of whatever goal was set.

[NOTE: After the meeting Argyriou did not affix her signature to the draft stating 1/3, 1/3, 1/3 as the goal.]


Items V(Opening Day Feedback) , VII, (Pay to Stay Update), IX (Follow Up Report to ACCJC, and X (Good of the Order) were all held over.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:47


Back to Top