The De Anza Academic Senate
Approved Notes for the meeting of

April 6th, 2009

Senators and Officers present: Argyriou, Botsford, Brennan, Cichanski, Dolen, D. Guevara, J. Guevara, Hughes, Lathers, Lee-Klawender, Maynard, Miller, Mitchell, Setziol, Swanner, and Winters

Senators and Officers absent: Beckum, Coleman, Cordero, Glapion, Goodwin, Hanna, Hunter, LaManque, Logvinenko, Mjelde, Sherby, Walton, and White

DASB: Classified Senate:

Administrative Liaison:

Guests: Karl Schaffer

SLO coordinators:

Curriculum Co Chair:

[NOTE: Item numbers are reflective of agenda numbers in the order they are actually taken up at the meeting.]

The meeting was called to order at 2:32, a quorum being present.

I. Approval of Agenda and Notes: The agenda was approved as distributed with the addition of an Item IIa (Announcment)and the renumbering of II to IIb.

The notes of the previous meeting (March 16nd) had already be approved by mail as distributed .

IIa. Announcement: Argyriou announced the nomination of Chancellor Martha Kanter by President Obama to be US Under Secretary of Education. According to Kanter, given successful confirmation, she will likely start this summer.

IIb. Needs and Confirmations: There were four candidates for one vacancy on the Instructional Planning and Budgeting Team. After two run off votes, Kathy Plum was confirmed for service.

[NOTE: After the meeting it was determined that Kathy Plum could not serve as expected.]

The meeting was adjourned at 2:46, said to be a new record for early adjournment.

Back to Top