The De Anza Academic Senate
 Notes for the meeting of

 March 15th , 2010

Senators and Officers present: Anderson,  Argyriou, Beckum, Botsford, Brennan, Cordero, Glapion, Goodwin, Guevara, Hanna, Larson, Lathers, Lee-Klawender, Maynard, McNamara, Mjelde, Nengo, Norte, Roberts, Schaffer, Setziol, Singh, Stockwell, Swanner, and Tao

Senators and Officers absent:  Annen, Beggs, and Nickel

District Senate President:

DASB: Classified Senate:

Administrative Liaison: Rich Schroeder Guests:  

SLO coordinators: 

Curriculum Co Chair: Anu Khanna

[NOTE: Item numbers are reflective of agenda numbers in the order they are actually taken up at the meeting.]

 The meeting was called to order at 2:32, a quorum being present. 

I. Approval of Agenda and Notes: The agenda was approved as distributed 

The draft notes of March 8th were approved as distributed.

II. Needs and Confirmations: Gregory Anderson and Diana Alves de Lima were confirmed for service on the Student Success Center Senior Educational Specialist Search & Selection Committee as well as the Student Success Center Educational Specialist Search & Selection Committee.

Herminio Hernando , Mehrdad Khosravi , and Bert Lo were confirmed for service on the Student Success Center Science, Math & Technology Educational Specialist Search & Selection Committee. They were confirmed with the preference that the EO representative NOT be from the same division as the faculty and administrator on the committee. 

Mo Geraghty, Diane Mathios, and Rich Lopez were confirmed for service on the Student Success Center Science, Math & Technology Resource Co-director Search & Selection Committee. They were confirmed with the preference that the EO representative NOT be from the same division as the faculty and administrator on the committee.

Rob Clem, Victoria Moreno, and Lan Tao were confirmed for service on the Counseling Faculty Search & Selection Committee.

Dan Salah and Dan Mitchell (alternate) were confirmed for service on the Vice Chancellor of Business Services Search & Selection Committee.

Lee-Klawender also reminded the group of multiple committee needs.

III. Senate President's Report: Given that A) The Board approved a transfer of $1,000 into a categorical fund and B) that transfer has the effect of relieving a college or district of categorical requirements, Argyriou has been trying to figure out what requirements in what categorical areas are targeted. So far, she has been unable to find someone able and willing to answer her questions.

Argyriou went on to report on the Board action not renewing the contract for the Vice President for Instruction at Foothill College. The person whose contract was not renewed will continue to receive a salary for the remainder of the academic year. In addition, Foothill or the District is currently paying and will have to pay an unspecified amount to an interim for the remainder of the year. 

The subject of the Foothill Senate's previous consideration of a vote of no confidence in Foothill College President Judy Miner was brought up. In addition to reviewing the considerations made and actions taken by the Foothill Academic Senate, it was said that the combination of a salary being paid for no work and additional salary being paid for an interim along with a successful wrongful termination lawsuit could provide the grounds for a vote of no confidence.

The reasons for the resignation of Andy Dunn as Vice Chancellor of Business Services remain unknown. 

Finally, Argyriou spoke to the notion of “share the pain” and the previously mentioned possibility of using one time balance (said to be largely a function of increased student WSCH to faculty ratio) to spare 30 classified positions (District wide) for a year, the Board has now released $1.3 million for 8-10 positions District wide.

[See next item for more on this topic.]

IV. IPBT Update:  Lee-Klawender began by reviewing the IPBT deliberations of March 12th on reducing Released and Reassigned time money by $200,000. After many presentations it became apparent to Lee-Klawender and administrative co chair Christina Espinosa-Pieb that the college could not afford to do without the work being done by those with released and reassigned time and that the work could not be absorbed by others (apparently division deans).  This implied that either a greatly reduced amount of savings could be had or the District would offset the amount not saved or a combination of the two.

The IPBT discussed options for identifying which two [Of the four for De Anza, two will be in the Instruction area.] positions to save with the $1.3 million set aside. The team favored having the IPBT take enough time to develop criteria and select positions to be recommended.

V. Faculty Hiring: Argyriou presented the need to authorize more Search and Selection Processes due to the uncertainty surrounding the History and Accounting positions and because of more anticipated retirements. It was suggested that perhaps the best thing to do at least for two positions possibly replacing the History and or Accounting positions would be to continue down the previous list of priority. The officers pointed out that the voting tally showed a precipitous drop off in support for positions after the 10 already approved. Administrative liaison Rich Schroeder mentioned that “starting over” would have to happen anyway, given the prospects of a number of retirements to come.

VI. SSPBT Co Chair Selection Process: The officers presented possible selection criteria for interim and 2 year chairs. A thoughtful discussion resulted in clearly diverging positions. Argyriou decided to have votes on each suggested criterion. The result of the vote was to require the interim to have had previous SSPBT experience and to prefer the person to a Student Services identity.


VII. College Mission Statement: The item was held over.

VIII. Selected resolutions for Spring Session: Argyriou asked the Senators to forward comments and concerns by the middle of finals week.

IX. Wrap Up: The Senators were asked to forward any comments or concerns about the College Mission Statement


X. Good of the Order and Announcements: None

The meeting was adjourned at 4:32



Back to Top